Video
2

Ruck It!

Woven wraps can be down right intimidating! I was 7 months pregnant with my second child when I got my first wrap. It was a Wrapsody Bali Breeze and I had no clue how to use it plus I had this huge pregnant belly and a toddler with zero interest in being worn. It was gorgeous though and all I knew was, I wasn’t giving up.

I decided I would spend the rest of my pregnancy practicing wrapping so I could get the hang of it before my youngest daughter arrived. Lucky for me I got the opportunity to take a babywearing class provided by Babywearing Institute when my daughter was just 2 months old! I received tons of knowledge on front carries and I felt very confident wearing my newborn, however, I didn’t have the same confidence when it came to back carries. My little squish and I were traveling alone and she was too young to be worn on my back at the time so I didn’t get the same practice as some of my other new mom friends with bigger kids. Not to worry, they had weighed dolls so I wasn’t completely left out. They just weren’t the same as a real baby.

Once I got home my focus was front carries. I wanted to practice as much as possible until I mastered the basics of the woven wrap. After my daughter turned 4 months old I started to experiment with back carries. Most back carries if not all are based off the rucksack so it’s a great launching point when starting out. Little did I know about how difficult and frustrating wrapping a baby on my back would be. I had a leg straightener on my hands so getting her to bend her knees and keep her spread, squat position in the wrap was a major challenge! I wasn’t sure what to do except practice and take breaks. it wasn’t until Harper was a little over 5 months old before she was content being on my back and seeing the world as I see it. Even though she may have been ready to backpack, it didn’t take away the fact that she liked to straighten her legs. I talked to some friends from my babywearing class and read a ton of Facebook posts from moms discussing the same exact thing. A solution that seemed to work for us was tucking the bottom rail of the wrap in my kid’s pants. Sounds weird I know but it works and it allows me to interact with my toddler and get stuff done around the house that I wouldn’t have been able to easily do if she was on my front. Also, working with one tail at a time seemed to make a difference. I’m short and with that comes short arms. Bringing the tails behind my back and under my baby’s bum one at a time allowed me to reach for the tail with the other hand.

As I said earlier, woven wraps can be very intimidating but don’t let that scare you away. They are amazing once you get the hang of it and with a little practice you will become a pro. If I can do it, anyone can do it! Happy babywearing!

2 thoughts on “Ruck It!

    • Thanks! I feel the same way about my oldest child. I don’t know why I never thought to wear her on my back more. Once she started walking she had absolutely no interest but occasionally she wants up there when she sees her sister on my back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

